FIRST 5 km Training Program

When I decided to train for a 5km to start the year, I searched the internet for a training program I could follow. After a lengthy search, I eventually picked the Furman Institute of Running & Scientific Training (FIRST) 5 km training program. I picked this training program because of the following reasons:

  1. Easy to follow. The program provides an easy step-by-step process to determine at what pace the training runs should be.
  2. 3 runs per week only. For someone with a busy schedule, having to run a minimum of 3 runs per week only is a God-send. It allows me to get challenged during the run, knowing that I would be resting during the days in-between runs. What’s also nice is that each run has a specific goal that has to be accomplished (easy, tempo, long run). This makes me feel I accomplished something, every time I get the goal for that run.
  3. Long training program. The program is 12 weeks long. This is longer than most of the other programs I looked at (most were between 6-8 weeks). I preferred a long program since I wanted to ease myself into training again. I felt that a shorter program would make me feel rushed, which would defeat my purpose of going not rushing too much. I did not want to go too fast, too soon again.
  4. Long runs. Although I’m just training for a 5km race, I liked it that the program’s runs were beyond 5kms. For example, the long, easy-effort runs were between 8-13kms. I felt that this would allow me to build up my endurance better especially since I plan to run longer distances in the latter part of the year. 

I’ve already completed 7 weeks of the program, and so far, it’s all been good. I feel I’m getting stronger and fitter, making me feel a whole lot excited when I run that 5 kms, 5 weeks from now.

One thought on “FIRST 5 km Training Program

Leave a Reply

