Want to race faster?

Lose your job.

Lose your job…
It’s true. According to an article in the Wall Street Journal, during the current recession, more americans are submitting running faster times during races. This year alone, the article reports that 4.6% of all marathoners have ran times that would qualify them for the 2010 Boston Marathon, which is an amazing 39% more than in 2008!
Less work = more training = faster runs.
The inverse has been true for me. Now that I’m busy with work, I’m training less… hence I’m running slower. I guess you just can’t have everything… :DLose your job…

It’s true. According to an article in the Wall Street Journal, during the current recession, more americans are submitting running faster times during races. This year alone, the article reports that 4.6% of all marathoners have ran times that would qualify them for the 2010 Boston Marathon, which is an amazing 39% more than in 2008!

Less work = more training = faster runs.

The inverse has been true for me. Now that I’m busy with work, I’m training less… hence I’m running slower. I guess you just can’t have everything… 😦

6 thoughts on “Want to race faster?

  1. Hi Joe. I can attest to that this year. Take care my friend.

    hey wayne! hope everything’s ok with you there πŸ˜€ see you soon!

  2. I so feel that – trade-offs. Mine has been even compounded lately – work+school –> less training –> definitely slower.

    But we’ll find time to run more again, for sure. Soon I hope.

    as nora has said… balance is the key… though for now, we’ll just have to satisfy ourselves by sneaking in runs whenever we can πŸ˜€

  3. No wonder the failed states have the fastest runners πŸ™‚ But some of them eventually vote with their feet and eventually represent the rich countries at the Olympics — Qatar, US, etc.

    yup. the fast runners who come from those countries start running at an early age. due to poverty, many of them have to run 5-10km one way just to get to school! that’s starting their base training very early. once they become elite, many transfer to those countries because that’s where the money is…

  4. hi loonyrunner,

    meron bang milo baguio registration sa manila? o kailangan pang pumunta talaga sa baguio to register lang?
    last year ba pano ka nag paregister sa milo baguio?

    salamat. enjoy running πŸ™‚

    chard

    hi! ummm… di ko alam if they accept registrations dito sa manila. I had someone register for me last year. I think they started accepting registrations about 2 weeks before the run. if you get the chance, run the milo baguio leg. it’s one tough, scenic route… teka, kelan ba ang milo sa baguio? thanks! πŸ˜€

  5. As in anything you love — work is a hindrance!!! Unfortunately, only a few can afford not to work!!

    that is so true πŸ˜€

  6. Hah hah . . . one can’t have everything really. We have to work, we love to run, we need to take care of our family, we want to blog, etc. Hirap magbalance!

    Hope to see you at the Run for Home, Joe. Will be running my 3rd 10K. 5 months akong napahinga but I’m back now.

    hi nora! welcome back! πŸ˜€ yup, balance is the key… anyways, I don’t think I’ll be able to join that one… but good luck to you on your 3rd 10k! hope to see you in the other upcoming races! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

