After the Bataan 102

My legs are in pain. The past two days I could barely stand, and walking straight is definitely an ordeal. I’ve iced my legs, massaged them, applied bandages… and yet they’re still in pain.

abcd0001my mummified legs

Was it all worth it? To push myself beyond what I had thought were my limits… but with one look at my finisher’s trophy and medal… the answer is yes.

My body was destroyed but it is healing now… if it were my spirit that was broken… I don’t know how long I would have needed to recover…

Would I do it again? I don’t know… for now, I just want to savor the elation and all the pain of completing this one.

4 thoughts on “After the Bataan 102

  1. Hey Loony,

    Congratulations. That is quite an accomplishment, breaking thru the realm of the ultramarathoner.

    Seems like you need to get the right gastroc checked, bro. If you’re not getting better in a few days or if you want to correspond, please contact me @ paiso@hotmail.com anytime so I can give you my mobile.

    Once again, congratulations and don’t start preparing for the next one yet! πŸ˜‰

    Jo Paiso

    hey thanks! my gastrocs are ok. its more of the tendons in the dorsum of my foot (don’t exactly remember what they’re called… mahina na ako sa anatomy e hehehe). But they’re getting better. Nakakatayo at nakakalakad naman na ako πŸ˜€ After the holy week if they’re still bothering me, i’ll give you a call. thanks bro!

  2. Hi Doc congratulations not only for finishing but for the courage to even start the race, this is big time man!

    thanks!

  3. hi. congratulations on your ultra marathon, surely your legs will heal in no time but the experience you’ve earned from the event won’t fade. i envy all the runners who participated for i know in myself (not in my lifetime) that i would ever do a ultra run. congrats again and i salute you. πŸ™‚

    never say never πŸ˜€ thanks!

  4. Hi Doc, doing alright now? How’s your leg? I hope it gettin better.

    hey jerry… yup, the leg’s much better. There’s still a little pain but I’m already walking straight πŸ˜€ thanks!

Leave a Reply

