PR Races

2 races… 2 PRs…

RUNew Experience

Joined this run last week, my first for the year. Ended up finishing in 1:13 plus change… a new PR for 15 km! ๐Ÿ˜€

I enjoyed this race since it introduced some modifications from the usual Fort route. The race started in the middle of McKinley Hill, then instead of just going through the main roads, we went through the road going towards the Accenture area. From there, the route just followed the usual route of previous races… going through McKinley Hill, Lawton and Bayani Road. When we reached the end of Bayani Road, I was surprised that we were going to run inside Heritage Park West (just shows I didn’t study the race route before the run hehehe). It was just a short run through but definitely a lung busting run-through. The area was hilly and added to the difficulty of the whole course. After exiting HP West, we transferred to the other side where we ran inside for ~2-3 km. After that, we were now to return to McKinley Hill going through Bayani, Lawton then the downhill rush to the finish line at McKinley Hill.

This route was really hilly almost from start to finish, and I think that’s the main reason I loved this route. It’s now my 4th top route ever! (My 1st would be the Milo Baguio route, 2nd –ย  New Balance Clark route and 3rd would be the original Mizuno route… because it was the 1st time I encountered McKinley Hill).

Being a RunRio event, it was a very well organized race… except for the part where there was some confusion with the finishing times. No harm done though since I eventually ended up with a lot ofย  goodies after ๐Ÿ˜€

(Thanks to Dr Doray for helping me have the times checked and corrected… thanks too to Dr Lora Tansengco for the free breakfast ๐Ÿ˜€ )

DocFit

The 2nd DocFit run, which is sponsored by the Philippine Heart Association, was held last Sunday at UP Diliman. It is a highly anticipated race, especially by doctors, since it hasย  a separate MD category. Last year (May 2008), I ran the race with a time of 47:28, which has so far been my 10k PR.

This year, I aimed to try and better this time… which I did! I crossed the finish line with a time of 45:10… the fastest I’ve ran 10km ever! And the best part, I ended up with a podium finish again (3rd among MDs) with this time. It was a downgrade from last year (I was 2nd last year) but the two doctors who crossed the finish line before me (Drs Larrazabal and Papa – who repeated as champion!) were very much stronger and faster than me. Next year, I’m aiming to further improve on my time though,ย  so I’m already expecting next year’s raceย  to be a very fast and exciting… ๐Ÿ˜€

10 thoughts on “PR Races

  1. congrats joe. let us make you the top md finisher next year.kayam dayta.the 2nd md placer is just under a minute away from you.and the repeat champ is ahead not that far.i suggest you do not stop at the water stations when you drink.just run and drink like the kenyans do!

    stopped at the water stations to catch a breather… just got too tired hehehe congrats on another PR for you also ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Congratulations Doc Joe for the PRs! Keep those PRs coming. Cheers.

    thanks! though bataan muna bago sumubok mag PR ulit… ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Hi Doc, hope to see you at the top on the next run congrats, Godbless!
    we’ll see ๐Ÿ˜€ thanks!

Leave a Reply

