Destination: The Beach

For the past six weeks, I’ve been in San Juan, Batangas for my community medicine rotation. San Juan is a rural town, about 120 km from Manila, that’s bordered by the Quezon province in the north and by the Pacific Ocean in it’s southeast side.

Though the municipality abounds with beaches, due to a busy schedule, I wasn’t able to go there as much as I would have wanted to. However, my chance arose when one barangay had scheduled an activity that I had to supervise. The barangay was in the southmost tip of San Juan and just behind the health center I was going to, was the beach! The only problem was how to get there, I could ride a jeep, or a tricycle… or I could run…

Run to the Beach

sunriseI woke up a little bit late, so the sun was already beginning to shine

destinationmy destination

11<textarea rows='10' cols='40' name='content' tabindex='2' id='content'><p>For the past six weeks, I've been in San Juan, Batangas for my community medicine rotation. San Juan is a rural town, about 120 km from Manila, that's bordered by the Quezon province in the north and by the Pacific Ocean in it's southeast side.</p> <p>Though the municipality abounds with beaches, due to a busy schedule, I wasn't able to go there as much as I would have wanted to. However, my chance arose when one barangay had scheduled an activity that I had to supervise. The barangay was in the southmost tip of San Juan and just behind the health center I was going to, was the beach! The only problem was how to get there, I could ride a jeep, or a tricycle... or I could run...</p> <p><b>Run to the Beach</b></p> <p style=

L stands for Laiya, where the best beaches are found in San Juan

The Route

to-the-beach

11192008526

11192008529

11192008530–Β  loved the route, it was very challengng as it wasn’t all flat

11192008533–Β  no cloud cover!

11202008550finally, kilometer O…

11202008551but where’s the beach?

11202008552end of the concrete road

The Beach

As it turns out, the beach was still ~1.5 km from the marker… but after running for 23 km… I finally reached my destination… the beach!

11202008554

11202008566

112020085562

After pounding the road for 2 and a half hours, it was a surprise to find out how relaxing it was to walk on the beach barefoot. The sand in San Juan isn’t as fine as those of Boracay… they were more grainy… but it was ok since every time I took a step, my foot would sink into the sand stretching each muscle and ligament… also, the sand and pebbles (smoothened by the waves) were like a million fingers which seemed to be massaging my feet πŸ˜€ It was a challenging run, but definitely well worth it!

16 thoughts on “Destination: The Beach

  1. hahaha loony ka talaga. when i saw the first 2 pix i pictured na your route. wagi run! did you go all the way to la luz resort? im sure you loved it kasi thats about 4-5 crazy uphills with lots of dirt road. πŸ™‚

  2. hey bards… the beach I reached (which was a public beach) is just beside La Luz. Yup, there were a lot of hills! Di na masyadong dirt road though, naayos na nila. May short segment na lang just before you reach La Luz πŸ˜€ hmmm… I think I have a pic of that somewhere…

  3. Why that’s Laiya doc. Love the dirt roads. The paved ones must be perfect for running as well with so few vehicles using them, the one that goes to Rosario is it, a half-marathon distance or is it 25K. You might try a guided climb to Mount Daguldol, trailhead is near the La Luz resort, or even Mount Lobo overlooking the Verde Passage and Mindoro, or, Mount Malipunyo even. I think they run a beach marathon in the Laiya area every December.

  4. hardcore ka talaga joe. matagal na akong hindi nakapunta dyan. hindi na pala dirt road going to laiya. beaches in laiya are best for snorkling and diving. πŸ™‚

  5. That was beautiful! No wonder you could not join me in UP. I would not have missed this run to the beeach for anything!

  6. dr joe, that was a nice run..that explains why i did not see you for the past races here in Metro Manila. did you run again in going back to your place?

  7. hello!

    miraclecello… did that run (to Rosario), it was around 21 km. I think the beach marathon was postponed to March, was kinda looking forward to that one pa naman. hmmm… climbing… someday πŸ˜€

    ibet… yup, yung dirt road e mga 1.5 kilometers na lang.

    PC… πŸ˜€

    BR… I wanted to. Pero I couldn’t because I still had to meet with my group that morning. A back and forth would have been a full marathon distance… and that would have been fun πŸ˜€

  8. Enjoy the scenery while your are there.

    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

  9. let us burn those roads when the laiya beach half marathon is on hand.thanks for the advance info.hehehe.

  10. mark… Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    moljcy… maybe next time πŸ˜€

    runningshield… i agree. btw, great idea for the condura-skyway run! i’m sure it will be one of the most anticipated races for next year πŸ˜€

    bugobugo… di ko sure kung road o beach race yung laiya run. kung beach, it would be a bit difficult kasi malambot yung buhangin… katnu ka agawid?

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone!

  11. Hahaha! Kakaiba ka talaga joe!

    May DocFit daw ulit sa March 1. Pagkakataon na naman para sa podium finish. Hehehe. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

