Questions and Answers I

Here’s my take on some of the questions asked in the previous post:

1. What is the BMI?

  • The BMI, or body mass index, is an approximate measure of a person’s degree of “fatness.” It is computed using the formula BMI = weight in kg/height in meters squared. An alternative formula is BMI = (weight in pounds x 703)/height in inches squared
  • For asians, the normal BMI is from 18.5-23, overweight is 23-25, obese is more than 25. These are lower than the values for non-asians (normal is 18.5-25, overweight is 25-30, obese is > 30) since asians have leaner, smaller bodies as compared to non-asians.
  • A BMI of less than 18.5 would mean a person is underweight and malnourished, making that person prone to certain infections and other illnesses. As the BMI goes over the overweight levels, the risk in developing cardiovascular diseases, such as hypertension, and diabetes also increases.
  • The BMI is however biased against muscular individuals since the BMI may be elevated due to the heavier muscle mass, rather than due to increased fatty deposits.

2. When is the best time to check one’s weight?

  • I agree that the best time to get one’s weight is during the morning, upon waking. It is during this time that a person is “driest,” lessening the effect of food and liquid intake. However, the focus shouldn’t just be on the “absolute” weight, it should be noted relative to your BMI, and body fat percentage.

to be continued….

5 thoughts on “Questions and Answers I

  1. For asians, the normal BMI is from 18.5-23, overweight is 23-25, obese is more than 25. These are lower than the values for non-asians (normal is 18.5-25, overweight is 25-30, obese is > 30) since asians have leaner, smaller bodies as compared to non-asians.

    You just made me overweight! hehehe My new target to be borderline is 159 lbs. I was not aware Asians have a different range. I was normal at 24.6 until I read your post.

  2. hey mark… yup. I was surprised too that the BMI range for asians was modified. Turns out, asians are more prone to develop diabetes and other cardiovascular diseases at a lower weight compared to non-asians. I’ll be posting my thoughts on your other questions soon! 😀

  3. I further searched on this via google. The obesity value also depends on the asian country said by Who.

    My fasting glucose result last May 5 was 101. That’s within the high sugar or pre diabetic category. That made me strive to lose weight and control what I eat. Doctor said I was just normal or near borderline. I dont understand why there’s a difference. Maybe its an Asian American difference like BMI?

  4. hey mark… yup, it does depend on the country. However, I don’t think we have the data for our country yet, so I prefer to stick with the lower cut-off values 🙂

    The cut-off kasi is 100-125 for pre-diabetes (I think it’s the same regardless of race). Since your result was 101, which is just slightly over normal, that’s why your MD said its just borderline. Still, I’d say it was a good idea to already start controlling your weight and your… besides, controlling your weight makes you a faster runner 😀

Leave a Reply

